Tuesday, Aug. 31, 2004 - 12:33 a.m.
a word on power

Recently I reached out to someone in a move that was perceived as me ceding my power. He felt that I was giving him the power through these actions, and that was power he claimed he didn't want (he seemed to accept it anyway, in retrospect).

I find a month later, though, that this is not the case. I find now that it's me who has the power, but not in the same sense. I learned something about him and about myself in that conversation that gave me another kind of power and now, in losing that battle, I find I'm free.

I feel released, relieved, that good ole "weight off my shoulders". That part of my sadness has lifted and now I see more clearly. One by one my sadnesses will fall away and one day only I will be left. The onion-girl layers will have peeled away leaving simply me.

I love you so very very much, jackrabbit, and I always will.

And here I am. The battle is over, there is no victor, and the power belongs to nobody.

I lay down my sword, love.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish