Monday, Aug. 30, 2004 - 12:58 a.m.
the final event, been and gone.

That's it. Wedding number four down. This one was very family, few friends. It was my cousin, Mackie, or Marabeth. Mackie was her nickname due to her initials, MAC.

It's my father's family, and I don't see them very often, but it's obvious that I take after that side in so many ways. It's good to see them again.

Love is such a baffling thing for me. There is evidence around me that it exists, but it seems to elude me nevertheless, and the older I get, the more I don't believe in it. It's like being told there are unicorns, and seeing white horses that look like unicorns, but still not really believing in unicorns.

Well, not exactly like that, but you kinda get the picture. It's just not real, to me.

I got along famously with the groom's brother and best man who is a constable from the UK. Coventry to be exact. No, he doesn't live in Coventry, just works his police action there. It's apparently one of the roughest neighbourhoods there. But he does alright. He's 25, and really quite sweet. I might see him once more before he goes back to England, but other than that, the chances of this becoming interesting are small. We had a nice conversation, a long one, and when we hugged goodbye this evening, he sorta awkwardly kissed my neck.

I don't know what to make of that so I won't bother trying.

And now I'm exhausted. I'll read a page or two and then pass out.

Adieu. And that's it. The weddings of my summer, 2004 are over and done.

On to the fall, oh how I look forward to my favourite season.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish