Wednesday, Aug. 03, 2005 - 5:47 p.m.
skin isn't as thick as I like to pretend

OK I didn't get the part after two callbacks.

The note from the producer was that maybe my character was too strong, bubbly, etc for a woman torn between two men.

Here's my two beefs.

One: if you are a director, and you want something from the actor, you can certainly ask for it. If you get to the point of second call back, you are in a position where you like the actor, like their ability and want to see where you can go with it. So if you want more vulnerability, you ASK FOR IT.

Two: why does she have to be weak and pathetic? why is it that women's characters are always weak fucking women who are trapped in terrible situations where they must rely on a man to make them strong? Why can't she be strong enough to know that she's in a bad situation, and want to get out, but at the same time fear leaving, because it's hard, frightening, traumatic, etc, especially when your husband is a sociopath.

So I guess you can assume I'm a lot annoyed that I didn't get the part.

The other actress, (it was between two of us) was much much thinner, and weaker looking, and such. So I am willing to bet it had more to do with weight than acting. I am pretty certain that I am a stronger actress.

So they went with the weak and frail look, which I cannot do. I can be weak and frail, and look weak and frail in real life, but I do not and never will look weak and frail on film.

So I lose out on those roles. I am made for strong, smart women, and no-one writes those women. NO ONE.

It really fucking sucks. I am taking this one really hard.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish