Saturday, Sept. 03, 2005 - 8:41 a.m.
the cottage

I dreamed that I bought my Gramma's cottage in Point Roberts. When I got there I looked out the back door into the yard and the water was nearly lapping the back deck.

I thought to myself "wow, the tide's high" then remembered that the property was not beach front. Then it dawned on me that everyone's home that was between mine and the beach front was completely submerged. I couldn't see roof tops or anything.

Then the waves started and the water advanced. They knocked in the basement wall (there is no basement in the real place) and threatened to bring the whole structure down so I ran in and grabbed my wallet, of all things.

Then I left the house and the waves stopped. Emergency crews arrived and things, and a helicopter lifted me out of harms way. But they flew off with the bottom hatch still open, and one of my flip flops fell off. So I had one shoe, my wallet and nothing else.

They dropped me off at a mall that was closing and I was trying to buy a pair of shoes and no one had anything that wasn't totally skank flashy and covered in bling and four inch platforms etc. I just wanted some flips flops. I found a pair I could stand, but they didn't have my size. So I continued to walk around in one shoe, one bare foot and everyone closed.

I was back at the cottage and the water was still up to the house, but it was done bashing. I started planning the renovations right away. I was inside the house deciding on paint colours and carpets and things, and then there were tons of other people outside.

I went out and faster than you can snap and say 'snap', the water receded while I watched. Everyone's homes were decimated. Mine was damaged but ok.

I worried about Aunt Lu, who had a place on the beach. I thought she might have been dead.

It's probably all the hurricane stuff. Seeping into my dreams.

I miss Fleet. I thought about him when I woke up this morning. Again.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish