Monday, Nov. 29, 2004 - 9:11 a.m.
don't you hate it when your horoscope is right?

It said exes and old relationships would come into my life while this retrograde action is happening. And of course, they did.

As you know, I saw Jackrabbit last night. I didn't look at him much, let alone say anything to him, but he brought his new girlfriend. Which I discovered I was ok with, but I kinda was afraid to talk to her too. Anyway I did my best to avoid the situation until D. stole my seat while I was in the bathroom and I was forced to sit ACROSS FROM THEM. So I started to talk to her, I'm not a monster, you know...

And after a short conversation with her, which was stunted and she didnt' have much to say, and me feeling like a dork, suddenly jackrabbit asked me a question. No trace of anger or snideness or anything. It was really really strange considering the last time I talked to him he was berating me for thinking we could ever be friends again.

So we had a weird conversation as if nothing had ever happened and then when he left he said, "it was good to see you" and I just said "yeah!" because I didn't know what else to say.

It's such a strange feeling, because in that conversation I was looking at him while he spoke and I realized that all that desire and need for him that I used to harbour was gone. I still have affection and fondness, but the desperation I felt is gone. Perhaps it's because I'm myself now, and I am more myself than I have been in three years, nearly. I don't need anything from jackrabbit anymore. It's a bit sad, actually, sentimental sad. But a good sign for me.

And T. asked me to stay over last night and then go for breakfast in the morning. I don't know why, but he did. And that made me most sad. I sad no, I better not, and took the ride home. He has a girlfriend now as well, and I wouldn't want to put myself or him into a situation where we're both doing something we regret. He was exceedingly drunk and I was well in the can myself. But wow, I missed him a lot last night. He was my favourite, and still is, in lots of ways. I never felt stupid around him.

I asked him how his relationship was going and he shrugged and said "Alright". I said, "it's serious?". He said no.

I don't want to get my hopes up, not at all.

I'll just write about free will, and how I exercised it last night, and showed that we as humans can learn to change our ingrained behavious. A year ago, I would have stayed.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish