Wednesday, Nov. 24, 2004 - 10:11 a.m.
Paper Machine

So I sucked it up and went to see my philosophy instructor about my essay. I just wanted him to expand on the comments he'd made so I could learn to do it better next time. He said that it was a bit disjointed and I needed to strategize better. So I went, in complete fear that I would shake and turn red and get nervous, and be wholly obvious that I'm attracted to him, or at least that I'm somewhat insane.

It went well though. I just marched on into his office and he was there sending emails. Tiny office. We went over what would have made it a little better, but he said one thing that made me feel 100% better. Well, two things. When you read the words "pretty good" they have a much weaker effect than when you HEAR the voice associated with those words saying "pretty good" in a way that seems to mean, REALLY good. Then he told me he marked them quite hard, and that my paper was one of the top five or six in the class.

So now I know that I wrote a "pretty good" paper, and I've learned how to make him say "really good" paper in his comments, meaning "the best paper EVER" in his voice. HA!

Oh, my new cheap and probaby super uncomfortable mattress has arrived from IKEA. I really should just sell the lot and buy a proper expensive bed. But I've spent all my money on my debts and tuition for next semester.

Practicality, luv.

I'm hungry. Will someone please make me some breakfast?


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish