Tuesday, Jan. 18, 2005 - 1:54 p.m.
my home has walls

Hey. Another useless entry. I was supposed to go to the gym between classes but instead I ate lunch in Irwin's car because he had to move it from pay parking to free parking and it started to rain so so so hard that we tried to wait it out, but to no avail so we ran back to school in the downpour.

It's a good thing I'm wearing my pink rubber wellies. Dry feet! His are soaked through. His own fault for dragging me out in the rain in the first place.

So we got lazy, I got some tea and now we're killing time in the computer lab as our next classes start at 2:30.

I just saw some sattelite photos of the damage done by the earthquake and resulting tsunami. It's insane, the devastation. The original photos are lush and green with buildings and farming fields and small offshore islands. Now, they're brown, completely devoid of vegetation, and those little offshore islands are completely submerged. It's unbelievable.

Now we're just waiting for it to happen here. We're on a pretty unpleasant and just-waiting-to-cause-trouble faultline ourselves. We've been waiting for the big one for years, and the longer we wait, the bigger the one, as they say.

So in the meantime, I drink my tea and take for granted the luxuries that are afforded to me because I live in an unstricken, wealthy society.

Appreciate that your home has walls, kids.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish