Monday, Oct. 10, 2005 - 10:29 a.m.
meat-and-bone soul containment system

You know how I'm always talking about not really wanting to live anymore? But I'm not quite suicidal?

Here's a quote from "Eleanor Rigby" by Douglas Coupland that kinda puts a finger on it:

"All of us are stuck inside our meaty bodies. I've always imagined that regular people are happy to be inside their bodies, wherease lonely people yearn to ditch their carcasses. I suspect lonely people wish they could forget the whole meat-and-bone issue altogether. We're the people most likely to believe in reincarnation simply because we can't believe we were shackled into our meat in the first place. Lonely people want to be dead, yet we're still not quite ready to go - we don't want to miss the action; we want to see who wins next year's Academy Awards. More to the point, the lonely, like all humans, yearn to meet that somebody who'll makeus feel better about being trapped inside our species' meat-and-bone sould containment system."

There you go kids. I'm lonely, and I always have been.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish