Monday, Jan. 31, 2005 - 10:37 a.m.
gravity

When we die, some sink and some lay.
But at least I don't see you float away.

modest mouse

I pictured this, I thought about it. These lines are from Gravity Rides Everything. In my opinion, Modest Mouse has some of the best poetry I've ever heard in music.

Imagine if we had no gravity. And when people died, they just floated away from us. And you've seen how slowly things float in zero gravity. Things just kinda - drift. How much more painful would that be? I couldn't watch you float away, I'd scream, whimper. I'd fight it, I'd hold on to your dead hands and maybe we would float away together, but what good would that do?

There's something concrete about having our passed loved ones here, somewhere. In the ground, scattered somewhere. The psychology of the veneration for the dead is obviously in fear of the unknown, but at least part of death is known - our bodies are here, somewhere and in some form.

Perhaps I should rethink my wish to be pushed off into space when I die - just for the sake of those who love me?


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish