Thursday, Aug. 18, 2005 - 10:06 a.m.
good day

In all my wrapped up dramatic whinings, I forgot to tell you about my day in Whistler.

We slept in, we spent the morning easy. We drove to Whistler and tried to have lunch at one of my favourite places: Klahanie at Shannon Falls, but they were closed for a PRIVATE FUNCTION. I was so mad.

So we ate at a really sweet little place in Squamish. When we got to Whistler, we retrieved a beer that was left in a fridge it shouldn't have been left in, then went to the village to check out staff housing. I showed Fleet all the places I used to live ten years ago. We walked around the upper village, had a look at the summer festivities.

We went to base II to talk about getting jobs, which I already mentioned.

Then we went to Lost Lake and swam at the naked beach portion, since we didn't have swimming gear. We laid on the dock there too and sunned ourselves dry. Glorious.

Then we went for more walking, found ourselves some bushes and behaved rather badly.

Then we went to the Longhorn for the world's best nachos, and on the way we saw a rather large bear cross the highway.

He was beautiful. He lumbered across traffic into the bushes, heading straight for a bright red bunch of berries. We both flipped out, fumbled for the camera and managed to get one far off shot of the bear eating berries.

He was black, and ADORABLE. Of course, he would have ripped our heads off if he felt like it, but he was too busy eating.

Then we got busy eating. Seriously, the BEST nachos. Not a single nacho lacked cheese and toppings. I was very very impressed, and very very sick for the rest of the day. :D

All in all, one of the best days I've had in a long time. Fantastic. FANTASTIC.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish