Thursday, Aug. 19, 2004 - 2:05 a.m.
bubble tea for my last day

Finally, the one night since I've quit my job that I don't have to be ANYWHERE tomorrow. I have no real solid plans. I have no obligations. I don't have to be up. Miracle of miracles.

Today was the last day of shooting for me on this film, and I must say that though I enjoyed the shooting for the most part, I did breathe a sigh of relief at the words, "you're wrapped".

So I went home with Bean and he helped me put to rest the washer/dryer fiasco and now it's jury-rigged in some strange manner so that I can at least make my clothes clean. Better than nothing.

Work was relatively quiet, so I was able to make Cohen a birthday box with a paper crane in it, which I think he lost after getting a little drunky drunkerstein at Havana. We had a couple of drinks, I made a couple of friends and then it was off to bubble tea.



I had a slushie-coconut verson with the pearl tapioca. It was cold, chewy and liquid all in one mouthful. What more could one possibly ask for?



We had a decent, random conversation peppered by silliness and violent photographic episodes where unsuspecting people in magazines were accosted and the unidentified camera settings were unduly taken advantage of.



One of the best things about bubble tea is the giant straw. It's three times the diametre of a normal, every-day straw. It's a monster straw. A megastraw, if you will. One must be careful with said straw. If one inhales too quickly, one will receive a lung full of green tea passion fruit fluid and if one is unlucky, it will be chunky.



There is a strange phemomenon following the bubble tea thing. I believe it was originally Korean, though I could be wrong, but it soon became exceptionally popular here in Canada, and Vancouver especially. Kids crowd into bubbletea shops after the bar and yap till the place closes down. It's as sought after as the martini.



It's effects are that all the people you are with become incredibly cool, and sexy because the chewing motion suggests instinctual perpetuation of the species. They are chewing little, black gelatinous balls. What could be cooler than this?

Nothing.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish