Friday, Nov. 19, 2004 - 9:30 a.m.
atrophy

You know, I never thought I'd say it, but reading back through some of my entries, I really need to grow up.

Shocking, but true. My language is slipping, I'm speaking in the voice of a teenager. I'm 28. And I thought about if certain individuals read my diary. I was embarrassed, not because of the content, but because of the way I expressed it.

One thing I'm learning, and this is what I wanted to get out of english classes, is to refine my writing. And as I learn to do that, I find that I haven't been applying it to my practical daily life.

So here it is. I am going to make a serious effort to at least drop the words: like, totally, wicked and a few others I haven't thought of yet, unless it actually ADDS to the moment. I'll keep the swearing to a minimum, only for when I need it to REALLY emphasize what I'm talking about.

Unfortunately, there will still be poor-me entries, because I feel poor-me often enough that I need to write about it. There will still be bullshit tirades and rants about things that bother me. I just need to be more intelligent about it.

Incidentally, this little entry was for me. I mean, technically you're all going to read it and think, "boring boring boring" but I need to put it out on the table for myself, that these are the conscious efforts I'm going to make.

I'm still not going to edit these before I post. I'm a little too lazy for that. So there will still be typos, and there will still be serious grammatical errors, but at least the language won't go.

Things atrophy from lack of use. Arms and legs, the heart, and the mind. I don't want to lose any of them.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish