Friday, Nov. 19, 2004 - 3:13 p.m.
Breathe

I breathe I breathe the sound of the word is the sound of itself. An expulsion of voice riding the air. I breathe and I speak the word at the same time. The pressure of my lips to begin and the flow follows breathe out with ea-se and the soft landing of my tongue. THe word is life the word is warm and sweet. THe word is all living things, in one way or another. We breathe and when wesay it together we mingle together and take it all in again. And say it again. I breathe we breathe the word itself is the sound of itself.

- this is the latest installment in my writing dossier for english class. we were supposed to pick three words that we think are the most beautiful in the English language and write about why. This just came to mind and I'm not sure it's the exercise but I wrote it anyway. I showed it to my instructor, and I was TERRIFIED. I actually shook while he read it over (we're supposed to show it to him during the class for pointers and he's going to read it eventually when I hand it in) and couldn't stop shaking for about 10 minutes. Wow.

I'm kinda stoked on it, it's so rare that I hit some kind of stride. That was the first draft, up there, and I'm intending to perfect it a bit, but there it is.

Any comments or pointers guys?


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish