Sunday, Dec. 26, 2004 - 10:49 p.m.
i was all by myself ... no one was lookiiiiiiiing ...

Wow, was I ever full of cheer yesterday?

I had a me myself and I day today. I began the day by taking the bus downtown with my roommate, since it's bring your date on the bus day and people with bus passes can bring someone on the bus with them for free.

(That's every sunday in Vancouver, for people who live here and have a bus pass. Take advantage of this little advertised bus pass perk.)

So I bought a few little pretty boxing day items, braved the onslaught of consumers, and caught two films. The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, the latest film from Wes Anderson, the fabulous man who brought you Bottle Rocket, Rushmore and The Royal Tenenbaums. Two of which I own.

Anyway see it, it's a charming film with some lovely acting, clever ideas and brilliant music and soundtrack, including this guy who translated a whole bunch of David Bowie's songs into portuguese and sang them to acoustic guitar accompaniment. BRILLIANT!!

Also so Briget Jones, Edge of Reason. The book was INFINITELY better, but when isn't it? It was cute, but I didn't love it. I didn't hate it either. I guess it was just..just...kinda...innocuous? I do like Colin Firth though, boy do I.

Anyway, on my way home from the films I stopped off at Chapters to check on a book title my roommate was looking for, and get suckered into buying more classics that I'll never get a chance to read.

I completely forgot that the Director works there. The funny thing is, I made it in there and out of there without being clued into the fact that he worked there. It was in the street halfway to the busstop that I ran smack into him. The only real thing he had to say to me was that he was sorry he didn't come to Christmas dinner, and it wasn't because of anything that happened between us but that he was working so late etc. I said it was fine, that I hadn't thought otherwise, and in all honesty, I hadn't. I had forgotten about it anyway.

He just didn't seem happy to see me. That's fine. I was a little unnerved by running into him anyway. I said I had to go, and he said he had to as well, he was on a break from work. He always looks at me so apologetically. It makes me cringe.

He kissed me on the cheek and ran back to work.

So I came home, ate turkey soup and watched Mystery Men, and now I'm going to bed to finish Harry Potter.

I've barely spoken to anyone today.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish