Sunday, Aug. 22, 2004 - 1:59 a.m.
an industry night

The 48 Hour Film Festival Gala. I was to take part in this fun filled test of filmmaking prowess, but my team fell apart a week before contest time.

Dammit. But I still went to the gala to support my friends, make some new ones, and meet some new contacts.

The Room:


It was packed at the start and everyone was super-excited to watch the films. There were 11 all told, as there was a tie (usually only 10 make the gala cut).

Bascially, I managed to run into Fred, who writes the social page in either the Courier or the Westender (I can't remember which paper) and he took a photo of Roddy Love and I for the events page. So now I'm going to be revered all over downtown Vancouver in a photo in which you can see the tattoo between my boobs. Excellent. I do look very cute in Fred's photo though. Here's my version:


Roddy introduced me to some of his teammates, one of which I found invitingly attractive:


And what's a photo without me trying to sneak into it?


I made friends with Brad, a friend of a friend Aubrey, and this cute bartender:




And last but not least, for Laura-Jane, my shoes, and the bottom of my dress. I know you'll want to see them, hon, enjoy! (PS, I'm the one wearing the Fluevogs, not the skateshoes)

Oh, I also met the Director/Writer for the next two installments of "Critters". I believe it's 5 and 6. Perhaps he'll give me a job dying in one of his films. Yesssssssss.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish