Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005 - 12:55 a.m.
Zeus Pater

I went to the observatory in Vancouver for the first time ever. Which is weird, since I live here and I love space, you'd think I'd go. But I haven't gone. Until tonight.

We looked at Jupiter. It was too cloudy to see any galaxies, which is what I was hoping to see. But Jupiter was incredible. I could see the bands of roiling gases. I could even see the big red spot that is a giant storm far larger than earth. I could even see some of the moons - Io, Europa and Ganymede, I think.

It was incredible. That was the first time I've seen a planet through a telescope and been able to see that it's more than a speck. Amazing.

These giant balls of whatever are just hanging out there, like we are here.

And they're so huge.

And they're so far away.

It's unbelievable. The universe is unfathomable. I can't believe we're here.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish