Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2005 - 10:04 a.m.
young thing

Ahhh morning. I think I'm coming down with something. I woke up with a massive headache that feels like a hangover, but I haven't had any booze since last week because I was starting to do that drink every night thing.

An old old friend of mine is in town from Edmonton. I haven't seen her in five years. We lived together in Brighton, then I went to stay with her in Edinburgh when I moved to Scotland. We were little party pants together back in the day. Well, tonight I am still not going to drink, but I am going to do my best to have a wicked time. She's very cool, very fun, and god knows what she looks like now. CRAZY.

I need a nickname for the young thing. How about the Young Thing? Even though he's only two years younger than me. YT? That works. So the story thickens. Apparently good sex is worth discussing someone's ignorant views. We had a long discussion about things and he was really upset about how we took his comments of the previous week and apologized profusely and now I feel like I should un-learn him of his rural Ontario ways. There I go, selfish again. Some women would say he doesn't need to change. I kind of despise myself in a way for wanting him to be different, I wouldn't want someone to do that to me. I suppose it's up to him whether or not he wants to be subjected to me. In time.

He's very, very, very sweet. If not a little ADHD and self conscious.

So now I've seen too much of him and I'm attached in a strange way that I don't want him to go away, but I know that I don't want to be with him for the long haul. I'm sure I was clear about our status a while back, but I don't know if he now thinks that's changed. I should ask him again.

For the time being, he's attentive, sweet, does whatever I ask (like travels an hour to my place at 11pm), makes my toes curl, smiles like an angel, divulges random and rare and beautiful thoughts every so often despite his usual weird comments that make me squint. He has crinkly eyes.





ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish