Tuesday, Sept. 28, 2004 - 12:45 a.m.
sucker punch

It's not hard to understand why/how people can get to the breaking point, the point where they lose it so deeply that they inflict harm on those they love or loved or whatever.

I have had moments where I'm so angry and I feel so betrayed and messed with that I want to slap the perpetrator. I imagine shaking them. And of course, those thoughts are gone as fast as they come, and I would never act on any of them, I don't have an applicable violent nature.

But I can feel the rage and frustration, and I can feel where it comes from and that if my rage and frustration were just that much more, I don't wonder if maybe I would punch someone out, or shake them, or slap them, or worse?

It's shocking to us because we as a civilized society don't do those things, or at least we aren't supposed to. But when that mental monitor is down, and a human is hurting so much they can't see/think straight, what's to stop them?

It's not a foreign feeling. I think we've all felt it and are all capable of causing harm. We just don't do it, for the most part.

Anyway, it was just interesting to me to be walking down the street and feeling angry and sad and thinking, yeah what would I do if I walked into him right now. Could I punch him out or smack him? It certainly is possible if I didn't control myself. You know what I mean?

We're all capable.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish