Saturday, Sept. 18, 2004 - 10:24 a.m.
squirrel four-lane

I had so much to write about last week, and I forgot all of it.

My observations have evaporated in the absence of sleep. I'm too busy thinking about how tired I am, which leaves no room for thoughts that are actually interesting.

So instead, I'll observe from my desk, the window.

There's a screen covering the part of the window that opens. It's the kind of screen that has the little sideways trapezoid doors so you can reach through the screen to open the window. But that' snot what I really want to talk about.

I really want to talk about the squirrel highway that is my backyard fence.

There is a serious rodential main artery happening out there. There is a high white fence surrounding my garden on the main floor on top of which squirrel after squirrel hurry along to get wherever they're going to.

Last time I was out gardening, I dug up heaps of nuts and things, which means to me some poor squirrel is going to be digging the shit out of my garden next spring, stark raving starving and thinking "Where the fuck are my nuts? I know I buried them here. SHIT!"

Meanwhile, as scads and hordes of squirrels haul ass on this major trans-garden interstate my poor cat Oliver Spoon sits and watches, chirping enthusiastically at the object of his disembowelment dreams.

Ahhh, the frustration.



I am aware that my window is filthy.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish