Thursday, Nov. 11, 2004 - 6:12 p.m.
spirit of downtown eastside

The soundtrack of today.

I rode through the Downtown Eastside in Vancouver, BC. I was on the Main St. bus with my walkman on.

Stabat Mater by Palestrina played at full blast with the most beautiful voices I have ever heard.

There was something about the sad resonating ringing sound of the music and watching the cold, driven people congregate on the streetcorners going about their business, whether it be scoring, whoring, or just trying to get by, they were all out and about.

There was an ambulance and a police car in succession by the sidewalk, both had their lights on and rotating. The sadness of the music and the trouble that invariably follows lights like this balanced each other beautifully.

I felt sad and cold and somehow detached. Like I was a spirit floating through this desolate place watching and not able to touch.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish