Monday, Mar. 21, 2005 - 10:46 p.m.
she was a sour girl the day that she met me

Essay day.

B+
on the poetry essay, which I thought was rather good. Why? Because I completely misinterpreted a poem. Ugh. So bad, she actually wrote:

NO!!
ARIANNA!

in the margin. But she complimented me on my actual writing style etc. Yeah, so I write the wrong thing, but at least I write it well? heh.

A
on the philosophy paper in which I used the phrase "barnyard animals". Haha. Surprising. Not only was it apparently a good essay, but my instructor (the illustrious one on which I still harbour this terrible and utterly unrealizable therefore innocent crush, which he obviously knows about because he smirks in this weird, self conscious way around me, I'm so embarassed) said that he was very pleased because it was such a huge improvement from last term. He said it was much tighter, more clear, better organized, better intro and summary. Basically everything was better. He was very pleased. VERY pleased. Which in turn pleases ME. Not only because I'm sorta desperate for him to know I'm not an idiot, but because it means that I am at least improving in my work, and learning something, and perhaps my plans in academia are not so ridiculous after all.

But this also places a great deal of pressure on me for the next essay for his class, because it has to be even BETTER than the first. Sigh. Mediocrity - not so fun, but a helluva lot easier, no?

Bed now. Belly hurts.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish