Friday, May. 13, 2005 - 1:43 p.m.
sammich

OK so my first projects, assigned in the first damned week -

I have to write the start of a short story, and write two pages on how I would adapt a short story handed to us, and write the first page of the script.

So much writing. And this is what I do instead? I should really be going to work right now, but I don't want to.

I realized something today (and I actually know this, but I really paid attention to the notion this morning).

I am really living the good life right now. I wake up in the morning and on average, I don't have to rush out the door. I get up and putz about a little, have some breakfast, or if I choose, as we did today, I can go for breakfast at one of the many fantastic restaurants on Main St.

I can sit in the window and sip tea. I can have an eggs bennie made with spinach and roma tomatoes and a cheese cream sauce instead of hollandaise. And I can look out the window at people passing by on the street, going about their various businesses.

I have never been so well set up in all my life. I am not struggling. I am not afraid. I am not worried about the future. I am not worried about today. I still have some worries about the past, but that's my issue rather than something I am truly beset with.

I am one of the luckiest people on Earth, truly. I knew that my 30's would be my prime. I am gearing up to that - a year away. It's true, you guys, we get better with age.

Music is life, art is life, creativity is life, true freedom is life.

At least for me. And I have these things.

I'm gonna maka sammich.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish