Wednesday, May. 11, 2005 - 8:46 a.m.
Just killin time before I sell the monitor...

I'm waiting for some kid to come and look at my old monitor, and maybe buy it. I'm selling it for nothing. $40. I just want it gone, it's in the way, and I haven't even got a desktop anymore. Just a laptop. Although I am considering buying a new desktop...

But that's slightly excessive. I need to do something about the flooring in this new place first.

First day of school yesterday and already the pressure starts. The instructor mentioned that the head of the film department forwarded our emails to her so she had been expecting me, which also means she's expecting some kind of brilliance. FUCK. Now I'm scared.

But it was an interesting class. We watched a pilot from 1995 that wasn't picked up after 11 episodes. It wasn't very good. It was pre-gritty TV, and it was VERY gritty. As in, not a single living green thing in it, everything was decaying, dying, dead, broken, wrecked, ugly, brown etc. So perhaps it was a little before its time. But there were other writing flaws too.

It just wasn't quite right.

But that's the class. We watch TV, we write TV and then we workshop it. THe first assignment is to watch three episodes of a television show and then deconstructing it for the class with examples and everything. FUN.

Today, adaptation class and creative writing: prose fiction. Nutty!


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish