Sunday, Oct. 03, 2004 - 2:10 a.m.
run away

I was at a small gathering this evening, and I was suddenly overcome with lonliness and fear and sadness and frustration. I wanted to get out of there, and instead, I borrowed a pen and a piece of paper and I wrote the following sad little bit. And just to add to it, it's frustrating as hell when you discover you have feelings for someone, no matter how small or new or strange or interesting or casual, and you find them running away from you at ever chance. It feels terrible, and I felt terrible.

"We're all in pain, all of us, and we all do what we can to escape that pain. I wish I could. I watch people and what they do. I watch how they run away from what they feel, myself included. Pot, booze, sex, whatever it is - we run away in terror screaming. Pretending like it's all ok, when it's not. We want love, we want acceptance, we miss people, we want them back. We want to scream and we wish that the screaming would make it better. We wish that the scream, the tearing of the throat, the rawness, the pain, the loss of voice was penance enough for the crime, but it's not. It's never enough. We are all running on a deficit. We owe something and no matter what we pay it's never enough."


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish