Monday, Jan. 03, 2005 - 4:38 p.m.
pre-yoga

I should really update. I'm killing time between work and yoga, having a little something something to eat and reading diaries and I'm probably going to lie down for a minute.

I have a new favourite song. I haven't heard anything else by this band, and I'm assuming they're highly mainstream, but for some reason it makes me get all weepy. I don't know what it's about either.

"Restless tonight, because I wasted the light..."

One Thing - Finger Eleven

So I got to meet Dear Mr. Brown yesterday, which took a little doing since he got a wee bit lost with his buddies Sandeep and Dan. All three of them were absolutely charming, and Mr. Brown stunned me with his surprisingly lovely, sweet face. It's true that photos really don't do some people justice, even though they look perfectly normal.

So we went to the Vancouver Art Gallery and I bought a year's membership for students which was only $30, and I get little perks and bring-a-friend-free thingies. I can also go to the VAG whenever I want. Excellent.

Anyway, went to see the Massive Change exhibit which is something I have been meaning to see since it started. Trust me to turn up on the second to last day. Nevertheless, it was cool, a lot of great ideas, exceedingly optimistic. I particularly liked the practical products that were completely biodegradable, like styrofoam and plastic-like food containers that were completely biodegradable.

There was also this room full of fantastic futuristic materials like aerogel and this strange tape that lit up light neon. Also, various foams and gels and things made of recycled materials that were superlight and superinsulating and superdurable and using relatively little energy to produce.

I'm all about the future technology. I also dug this room that was entirely black with no lights, and the walls were matte black with shiny black writing, so the only way you could read the walls was to shine these flashlights against them. The flashlights were hanging from the ceiling by strings, and if you were standing next to someone shining the flashlight on the walls, you couldn't read it. You could only read the words if your own light was shining against the walls. Must have been the reflective nature of the words against the matte backgroud. It also had these weird holes that went through to the next room, through which I managed to locate a lost Brett.

Fun times, and we went for a beer after. Then I watched mallrats and ate an obscene amount of chicken wings with bleu cheese dressing. Ugh.

Right, off to yoga.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish