Friday, Sept. 24, 2004 - 11:53 p.m.
the pink bathrobe

There is this pink bathrobe. It was on her body. It was the wrong body. The pink bathrobe belonged on my body. It fit me perfectly. My hips, my breasts, my bum filled out all the spaces in this bathrobe. It made me feel naked, modest, sexy, motherly. She wore it when she answered the door and it was definitely the wrong body. It was loose on her, not enough curve to fill it. It was too long on her, it didn't show enough leg. It hung from her shoulders straight to the ground not stopping to define any particular body part. It was the wrong body.

It was my bathrobe, for a time. I wore it lovingly. I loathed to take it off, except to make love or shower, or the dreaded hour when I'd have to go to work, or go home. It was my bathrobe, the pink one. Not the purple one, that was his. I wore the pink one.

There's this happy life. It's her happy life. It's the wrong body. The happy life belonged with my body. It fit me perfectly.

It was mine, for a time. I wore it lovingly.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish