Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005 - 4:41 p.m.
there are no words.

OH MY GOD.

I'm an ass.

He was in a car accident, broke his femur, punctured a lung and nearly died.

Jeezus. You know, I did have a feeling at one point over the weekend that something was wrong. I should pay more attention to those feelings.

They were t-boned coming home from work. He was on the passenger side.

Wow. I'm just shocked. I'm glad he's ok.

There have been so many weird, horrible accidents lately. Something is up. The Okanagan Houseboat accident, Joshua's accident, and the following:

This is the brother of a girl I knew in highschool fairly well. She was a bright, beautiful girl and she killed herself. And now this happens:

I don't know what to say.

I'm so sorry for their family. That's two of their children, gone. Just like that. I wouldn't wish that on anyone, let alone them. They're a wonderful family. There really aren't words, I guess. There's nothing I can say that doesn't sound like a platitude, or cliche. All I can feel is sad, and sorry. That doesn't help them. I'm sorry for the girl in the Okanagan too. Such senseless deaths.

Meanwhile, we drive around in rolling death machines just barely escaping possible death every day. It makes you want to be all the more careful.

It's a good argument against technology, isn't it? In all three accidents, it was manmade machinery that caused the death or destruction. We're killing ourselves with our own inventions. But I guess we've been doing that since the first caveman stabbed another with a piece of wood he fashioned into a spear.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish