Monday, Apr. 18, 2005 - 9:46 a.m.
not a martian

My race results in the last four years doing the 10k Sunrun.

2002 - 83.06 - 1 hour 23 minutes
2003 - 79.03 - 1 hour 19 minutes
2004 - 75.32 - 1 hour 15 minutes
2005 - 73.00 - 1 hour 13 minutes

Well, at least I'm consistent. I'm getting better by a couple of minutes every year. Last year I shaved four minutes off my time, this year only two. I never said I was fast at anything... Hahaaa!

So at this rate, it's going to take me another six years to beat an hour. Maybe next year I'll train. Ha!

But seriously, this is a pretty large feat for me. This year and the year before were the only times that I ran the whole thing without stopping. The big deal for me is that when I was in highschool, forced to run the mile 'n a half in PE, I couldn't run for more than 2 minutes without stopping.

Four years ago, maybe four and a half, I couldn't run for four minutes without stopping. I started training to run at 4 minutes running, 2 minutes walking for half an hour. And it was agony. But I did it, and now, four and a half years later, I can run for an hour and 13 minutes without stopping.

So it wasn't the distance that was the big deal for me, it was the fact that I could do it at all. So now that I know I can do it consistently, running 10k without stopping, a new goal emerges, and that's to get my time lower and lower every year until I am running it in under an hour. I'll never run it as fast as the winners, 29 minutes (what are they, martians?) but I can run it and that's the good part.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish