Tuesday, Jan. 04, 2005 - 10:26 p.m.
Jolly 2005

I just spent $400 on text books.

Jeeeeeeeeeez.

I had lunch with a fellow from work today who has expressed great attraction for me. I asked him about it once when we were drunk. Ahh, the immortal liquid courage, how I adore thee. He's a bit like Chris, the long term ex. Mostly nerdy, very smart, somewhat good looking with super dark brown hair and super light blue eyes. He's nice enough, and he paid for lunch, which was exceedingly generous of him.

I'm not really interested, I think, in anything more than friends, our current friendly relationship. He's great for conversation, and for 25 block walks up Main St (he went way out of his way to walk me to school). And I am curious about what kind of lover he is, but it would just be too weird.

So I was reading through my old horoscope from last year, the year-long prediction from the paper that comes out every January, to see how close it was.

Here's what it said:

Your family life will become happier. Your relations with family members will be warmer, more jolly and full of incrased mutual generosity.
Fair enough, things certainly did settle down between my mother and her husband, and things became only slightly less volatile. Now we're all a little more accepting.

Your domestic wealth will increase.
true, though you wouldn't know it, the way I spend. I've capped that significantly.

Privately, you're questioning the balance of how much you work versus how much time you need to live your life.
Bang On! I quit my full time job in July and went back to school, which, in my opinion, is part of the time I need to live my life.

You have to have enough freedom to explore your love of learning!
Need I say anything here?

Your feelings of rebellion and independence will probably quadruple.
Yes, they have, to some degree. I've been much less social than I used to be, much less dependent on people for support in my life.

You might move into bigger digs or something more comfy.
Nope, though I wanted to. Hmm, maybe she was early on that one

This is a time of intense power struggles where everybody thinks they know best. You want to improve someone; someone wants to improve you.
Hells yes, did this ever happen. With at least two people, I can think of this situation, and DAMN they were both unpleasant.

There's a bunch of stuff about how 2004-2005 is a great time to find true love. I'll believe it when I see it, 2004 certainly was a gong-show. It's that thing about Geminis always searching for their twin, their other half, the missing partner.

I would just like to be happy.

Bring it, 2005. Gimme the jollies.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish