Monday, Oct. 24, 2005 - 10:30 p.m.
my house of dosas suitor

On Saturday night Anna and I went to House of Dosas for take out. While we waited (for quite a while) for our dinner, the son of the family that owned the place provided the entertainment.

His name was Emannuel, he was roughly six, and he was peering at me from under the computer screen on the counter. First he started throwing garbage at me. A straw, which I flicked back at him, only to have it returned again. Then we graduated to bottle caps.

Kingfisher beer, to be precise, bearing the slogan: "Most Thrilling Chilled!"

Anna also received a bottle cap.

Then we moved on to less damaging items. Paper. Balls of paper were propelled over the counter at random velocities. Anna and I sank into conversation.

Moments later he came barrelling around the counter to exclaim, "I gave you money in that paper!"

Lo and behold, when I unwrapped the balled up paper I discovered a copper penny nestled inside. It seemed that I was being courted. Folling this was another gift containing metal. Sadly, it was not platinum. It was, however, a shiny row of staples.

He was adorable, and when his baby sister fussed, he rocked the cradle a little to calm her down without being prompted by an adult. Either really good, or really well trained.

Either way, I kept the penny, the staples and the bottle cap.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish