Wednesday, Sept. 08, 2004 - 11:09 p.m.
a comfortable rambling

I don't know what to write about today. I've had my first lesson in time management. Find out how many pages a reading assignment is before you allot the time to read it.

Something I thought was only a few pages turned out to be 30. Yeah. I've read 7 and I'm exhausted and I have to try to read the rest tomorrow before 3:30. Or I'll just keep my mouth shut in class and listen.

Won't make that mistake twice.

I bought a printer today.

I went to ICBC, our local insurance monster, to discuss settlement for the bus accident. I did pretty well, actually. I received $8000, which I cashed today at the bank. Part of it will go to pay off my line of credit. TO free myself from some debt. The rest will go into savings, save a little bit to buy my Vancouver International Film Festival pass and pay off some of my Visa.

So things are looking up it seems. It's a strange feeling, because there are all these great things happening - roommate, new friends at school, OLD friends at school!! - school in general, extra money, breathing room, etc, but it feels like underlying all of this is the same old river styx of sadness that I seem to carry. Like I don't trust happiness anymore, not sure I ever did? I expect everything to go sour, and to come crashing down on me eventually. It's a scary thing to think that.

Philosophy class is also going to shake me for a loop, I can see. I'll be doing a lot of self-introspection and it's not all going to be good. Just interesting.

The subject for now? Relativism. Self-refuting. What I believe is true, is true for me. What you believe is true, is true for you. It denies the idea of absolute, objective truth. Universal truth doesn't exist, but in believing in relativism, you suggest that it is a universal truth that what I believe is true for me and what you believe is true for you. See? Cancels itself out by definition. When it denies universal truths but bases itself on a universal truth? Self denial! See, I think I'm getting the hang of this shit.

Jeez...


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish