Friday, Oct. 01, 2004 - 10:40 p.m.
beauty in everything

I wanted to write about beauty. But it's weird in a way, when you write poorly about beauty, it's hard to do it any justice.

I was walking from the Stanley to the Granville Island Stage to cover a shift that someone called in sick for. I had my mp3 player running and I was listening to one of the most beautiful songs, Let Go, the one I posted the lyrics for on the previous page.

The sun was bright, the air cool and crisp and clean. The grass looked greener than I thought possible, everything was just right. The light was in my eyes, and it sort of dappled itself through branches and buildings and things and it moved across my face and I could feel that when the sun was in my eyes, the green in my eyes was like the grass.

Everything was so beautiful. There is so much beauty and it might be arrogant of me to say that I am happy that I recognize it and appreciate, but it's sad at the same time because here I am experiencing all this beauty, and then I have to drag myself back to earth to go to work. To play this stupid game that humans have invented for themselves where we think that everything we do is important. It just isn't, and what is important, to me now, is that sunshine, and that green grass, and the green reflected in my eyes, and the warmth in the cold air and the falling leaves and the beautiful music.

I love the autumn.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish