Monday, Mar. 14, 2005 - 10:03 a.m.
terra gloriosa

It's beautiful outside.

The near perfect day. The sun is as bright as possible, no clouds in the sky. The air still holds an edge of something cold, it's not quite full-out spring, but it's definitely not winter. So it remains crisp and the air I breathe is clean and clear and grips my lungs. Be alive, you. Be alive.

So I wear flip flops in optimism, and freeze my ass off later tonight when the sun has gone down and I wait for the bus. Clever girl.

Now if only I could stop turning red every time I feel something.

God the sun is incredible. She was the last topic in Astronomy the week prior. A massive, unfathomably large sphere of burning gas, never stopping, constantly in turmoil and chaos. Mass coronal ejections, so much energy, so much power - enough to blast through the entire solar system and then some, just on a day when she feels a little more pent up than usual. I can't even imagine how much power. Four Million Kelvins. That kind of heat has no reference, other than the fact that we are ridiculously far from her and we still can't look at her, and we still feel her heat.

The star curtain in my window is refracting light. There are prisms everywhere. I don't want to leave.

Tonight I'll watch Adaptation with a critical eye, making notes for class tomorrow because that's what I do now. Another month and one more term down.

Off to school. It's Big Test and mise en scene day.


funny thing is, these are real. REAL.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish