Thursday, Aug. 25, 2005 - 1:10 p.m.
sea to sky

Last night: Kayaking.

Out to sea, to a small beach that seemed inaccessible any other way. I'm sure there was a path but...

Barbecue, dips, veggies, wine, conversation.

The sun went down and it became that black night that we don't get in the city.

I set foot in the water to push my boat out and set off sparklers. Phosphorescence the likes of which I have never seen. I gawped at the little planktons mirroring the stars in the sky. I trailed my hand through the water, feeling the warm sea (yes warm!) and watching the stream of sparks my fingertips emitted. Then my oar, then the streaks left by darting fish.

Then the sky. The stars were out. All of them. Satellites, meteors, and we were called to a halt. I turned to see what they were pointing at.

The sky was hazy in one spot and what looked like a cloud became a blazing lick of flame. Northern Lights. Aurora Borealis. Just one spot, and it glowed and faded and glowed brighter, and spread and faded and glowed again. It was incredible.

Northern Lights
Meteors
Satellites
A zillion stars
Phosphorescence
The sea

Each thing in itself is beautiful. Marvellous by their own rights. Put together it was a sensory overload. I just cried.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish