Friday, Jun. 17, 2005 - 9:07 a.m.
misconception

I need to vent this here, because I missed my chance. I was meeting with an agent yesterday and of course the issue of weight came up because it's an issue in the film and television industry.

He asked me if I walked. There were other small comments that I can't relate now because I don't remember the exact wording.

And he wasn't being nasty, and he wasn't trying to be condescending or rude. He doesn't know me and he's entirely uneducated in reality in this way.

It's a common misconception that when someone is heavier, it must mean they don't exercise or anything. I means they aren't fit at all.

Do I walk? I run. Do I exercise?

Yes:
yoga
cycling
running
yes, walking
lifting weights
snowboarding
rollerblading
hiking
swimming
gym

I do these things. And I'm still heavier. I know I could alter my eating, and eat smarter, better things. That's where my problem lies. It just bugged me that he assumed I was lazy.

OK. And on that note. I'm off to the gym.

Have a great day kids!


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish