Saturday, Sept. 04, 2004 - 1:16 a.m.
to mark a passing

I was on the bus today on my way to work and I noticed the cover story on the paper the man across from me was holding. There was an ambulance that was speeding its way to an emergency and it was hit by another car, which in turn flung the ambulance straight into a bus stop.

I'm not sure where she fit into all this, where she was standing or if she was driving, but an elderly woman was killed.

snap.

Just like that. I began to cry on the bus and it occurred to me that people die and we keep going. We take a second to note the death and we go on, which reminded me of a scene in "The Dark Crystal". One of the Skeksis dies, causing one of the Mystics to die, as they were inextricably linked. The Mystic is walking with the other Mystics on their way to the castle, and he just vanishes into thin air. The rest of the Mystics turn to look at the spot where he had been. They pause for only a second, then continue on their journey, expressionless.

They marked his passing and went on.

What got me was that this children's film illustrated simply, in this scene, how life really is. We have our journey, we go where we're going, and we lose people along the way. It's the way life is. There is nothing we can do about it, not a single thing, but mark the passing and go on.

I felt really sad for that woman.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish