Sunday, Jun. 19, 2005 - 10:07 p.m.
Luna

Still no dignity. I don't know how to get it back. Or maybe I've only just perceived its loss?

I've been slowly putting my house back together after the disaster that was my floors. It looks pretty good. I'm happy with it. I picked up some little rugs today. I also bought a huge heavy cabinet for the kitchen that I can't put up by myself, and guess what? No one to help. Bah.

But I don't really need anyone. I can be perfectly happy doing my thing. Today, I drove in the sunshine with all the windows rolled down, the sunroof open, my sunglasses on and my stereo. I sang at the top of my lungs. I don't need anyone to do that. I don't need anyone else to enjoy a movie with. I don't need anyone else to cook for. I can cook for me. Conversation can be had through writing, with the cats (yeah, I know, crazy) and I can sing when I need to hear a voice, and I can just listen to music when I need to hear a voice that isn't mine. When I need to see something beautiful, I look out my window at this incredible city I live in. I have big windows in my home, and I'm up high enough that I am above all the houses around me. I am the highest thing here. I can see the park, I can see trees. And I see the moon right now. Big, fat, nearly full. I can see the Mares (the seas on the surface of the moon that aren't really seas, but smoother lava flats). I can't remember the names of all of them, but they're stunning: Mare Tranquillitatis, the sea of tranquility; Mare Imbrium, the sea of tears; Mare Serenitatis, sea of serenity.

Feel bad? Look at the moon. There is nothing so otherworldly that is so close to us. It's the physical reminder that we are balls of matter existing in something so unbelievably huge. How could our little lonely troubles matter in such a space?

How can I feel alone when everyone is? It's almost absurd.

Here's what Kinnie Starr has to say:

"Let's be realistic we're all using each other and if you say you've never used anyone you're a liar. A liar. Cause we all use each other like we use food and water and we borrow and exchange our many skills to get farther. And there is nothing wrong with wanting someone to share it."

- Kinnie Starr


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish