Tuesday, Aug. 24, 2004 - 12:59 a.m.
kissing

Lips. Can I kiss you? Do you want to kiss me? Then why don't you kiss me?

A small experiment. When you read the above sentence, did you touch your own lips in any way? Did you lick them, or moisten them, or bite them?

I find that almost invariably, when someone else mentions lips, or draws attention, the onlookers will suddenly become aware of their own lips. Either subtley or acutely.

It must have something to do with our lips being the primary tools for sensory exploration from day one. When we're babies, we put things in our mouths because we can feel them better. Taste them, feel their shape etc. Our mouths are one of the most sensitive areas in our bodies.

That includes our lips. So at the thought of kissing someone, or having chapped lips, our attention goes to our own lips, maybe just a check-in, an awareness. Who knows why, really. Why does hearing about a yawn make you yawn yourself? Or talking about it? Our brains are alien planets.

I love to kiss, I want to kiss you. Can I kiss you? Do you want to kiss me?


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish