Friday, Sept. 17, 2004 - 12:01 a.m.
I can do this

I bought another pair of shoes today. It was almost two pairs, but sense came over me at the last minute. Jeez. It was a fun night though. Anna and I shopped the shop and went on a shoe mission, then we hit Cat's Meow for some dindins, and finished just in time to hit a Fringe show called "Cactus" which was absolutely brilliant. It was a one man show, and his face was so charmingly expressive and he was so brave. I was exceedingly impressed. I gave him my standing O. He crowd surfed a theatre for pete's sake. I should have run around screaming for him.

Afterwards we went to the Fringe Club, which is basically just the brewing company on granville island, and it was practically a shooting gallery of people I knew, both acquainted with and full out. Ran into roomie matty there, another guy I went on two dates with, an old friend from the revue stage, a woman from my old acting class, Helen and Kyla, Laura from work, plus TJ Dawe whom I know, though he doesn't really know me. Also made some new friends - two german traveler fellows, this girl who wants to be an actress (wow, so few and far between in this city....) and various others.

It really is amazing to me how many people I know. I can go into a theatre or film or artistickish location and invariably see at least one person I know, if not more. I don't know how I acquire all these people that I know. I guess it's because I'm friendly and such and people remember me. But it's great meeting new people and getting an influx of new energy and new possibilities. It's what life is about, well, at least lots of the time. Is that a valid english phrase?

Yeah good times. And now I'm home, listening to the rain, feeling sick from the food I ate today, waiting up, in a sense for Matty, email-stalking TJ Dawe, checking for my own email stalkers, of which I have none, trying to keep my cats from killing each other and planning to go to bed at some point.

I love this weather. If anything, I love the rain, the pattering, the cold, the wet. It's not so bad if you don't have to be somewhere in it. If you can just take your time, get soaked, and you don't have to go to work or school soaked, then hell, why not get soaked? I got soaked, came home, and now I'm getting into my fuzzies and I'm going to curl up with an exceedingly bleak, depressing book.

Another of those happy moments. How long since the last one? A day and a half? I have to work on stretching them, just a little more. Maybe this one will last till I sleep, and through till I wake.

Love me, love my life, I can do this.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish