Wednesday, Oct. 26, 2005 - 8:34 a.m.
Gibson in town

My old 'friend' Gibson is coming into town this week.

The story of Gibsy. Eleven years ago we met in Whistler. I was 18, and I had the HUGEST crush on him, in a massive massive way. Karin was dating his friend so we all hung out a fair bit. If you can recall, I was a very awkward young girl, so I just came across as this huge dork, I'm sure. Things never happened, but we continued to hang out, whatever. It was all a big disaster, to make a long story short. Karin ended up falling for him, and our other friend Charleen who ended up getting together with him, just to piss us off and prove she could. SUCH drama among teenage girls.

So whatever, I left Whistler, but Gibson and I kept in touch kinda. Five years later, he's back in town and I help in get a job where I work. No big, still sorta friends, but not really. We hung out rarely.

Then came my plans to leave town for a while. We had a going away party at Anna's and we all gut raving drunk, and Gibson and I ended up getting together. Weird. He drove me home in the morning and I got on the plane that night and that was that.

Skip ahead to five years later. Jamie is again in Vancouver, living and working (he skips from Vancouver back to Ottawa - back n forth). Again, we go out, we get tanked, we get together.

So now it's been 11 years since we met, and we get together every five. And now he's coming back to town. But we can't get together because it's only been one year. Hahah.

Actually, I think that if things started to happen this time, I would nix it. Don't misunderstand. We've never slept together. No sex at all. But he's not someone I would want to date. He's really self-centred, not necessarily a bad person, just doesn't think at all. He's a runner. He panics and bolts. He's 31 now, and he's one of those 'single for a reason' types. He likes crazy girls because they cause him trouble.

I can't really point fingers about that one.

He actually had the balls to say that if he dated a non-crazy girl, he'd be bored but less troubled. WHAT????? Just because girls are not crazy doesn't mean they're boring. WTF? Anyway. I'm completely crazy, it's a wonder he's not in love with me.

Nevertheless, it'll be interesting to see what happens.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish