Friday, Sept. 03, 2004 - 1:00 a.m.
you could be my best friend

You are so great. I see you so rarely, and we always have such a good time.

It was funny, when you walked into my class over a year ago, I had a personal joke with myself, "That's the guy I'm going to marry," and then I laughed it off and admired your acting and your personality and your intelligence from a friendship distance.

Now, over a year later, I still admire you and adore you and when I don't see you for a while I forget just how much. But then we spend an evening together. We go for a pre-show bevvie. We watch some theatre. We eat. I introduce you to two very important friends of mine, and of course, you all get along famously and remark on what a fantastic evening you've had. It was like we had all been friends, all along.

I am reminded of how much I like to look you in the eye, and how much I love that you return the look without hesitation or fear. How I love to listen to your mellow voice and the intelligent, witty, humble things that are conveyed with that voice. You have such a warm, sincere smile, and you play no games with anyone but yourself, and that is only because you suffer from the same insecurities that I do. So I understand what your head does to you.

Anyway, this is just me, falling in love with a friend, which is always foolish. Who knows how long it will be until I see you again. A month? Longer? You always ask me when I'm coming back to class and are seriously, sincerely disappointed when I say that I am not.

You want to spend time with me, and I am so very willing to give you that time.

How do these things happen? Who knows. I know that I would be happy if you took my arm one day and kissed me the way best friends kiss each other, the kind of best friends that don't want or need any other best friends. That best friend love that isn't overblown, or over-romanticized (hard for me to avoid) or delusional, or pathetic or needy.

The best friend love that says "you are my favourite person and I would be happy to wake up and see your face every morning until the day that I die"

Ahhh wishful thinking. I would be happy if you just called me.

Good night, brown-eyes.


ne gallum quidem...

old fish - red fish? blue fish? - new fish